IF I COULD CAST THE HUNGER GAMES MOVIE…

I was jamming to the phenomonal soundtrack to the upcoming movie adapation of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games when I had an ephiphany.

Besides watching the trailer a couple times, I have tried to stay away from anything that would give too much away. I can’t really picture anyone in the movie except the chick playing the Katniss character and Haymitch, which I think is brilliantly cast, placing Woody Harrelson in the role. We’ll see how that pans out this weekend, though.

Back to my ephiphany.

I was thinking about a specific television cohort that I think would be fantastic to explore the dystopian future where children killing each other on television is a means of entertainment and social control. This plot doesn’t even seem that far removed from the original television series that my dream cast got their start on.

So who would I choose to play the motley crew carrying the story of The Hunger Games to the big screen?

None other than….

The teenage cast of the 90’s sitcom Saved By The Bell!

Here’s how I would make it happen with my trusty DeLorian at my side:

Jessie Spano as Katniss Everdeen

Kelly Kapowski as Primrose Everdeen (I mean, seriously Jessie is way tougher than Kelly!)

Zack Morris as Peeta Mellark (Ahhhh…hearthrob.)

Screech Powers as Gale Hawethorne (Picture, the rugged hunter. Are you feeling it?)

Mr. Belding as Haymitch Abernathy (This is Haymitch on one of his better days.)

Lisa Turtle as Effie Trinket (Look at that style!)

A.C. Slater as stylist Cinna (Yep.)

I think I missed my calling.

Who would you have cast in The Hunger Games?

    • dnkg13
    • March 22nd, 2012

    Brilliant! Maybe you can suggest that for the tv version.

    • stanmanx
    • March 23rd, 2012

    Hah! Nailed it 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

