THE ADVENTURE BEGINS…

As you might have heard on Facebook, Twitter, or at Wildwind Church this past Sunday, something big is on the horizon for my family! In July of 2012, we’ll be heading out on our own to start a new church in Flint, Michigan! I realize that Flint has other churches but this project has been on our hearts for years. As long as this has been brewing, the time just never seemed right until now.

We love our city and our neighborhood, and we want to help be a part of bringing something new to life. We don’t have everything figured out yet. We don’t know where we will meet, or who will join us in the effort but we know we have to be faithful to follow the dream that God has given us.

We have been dreaming about creating a community of people who learn to see God active in everything around them. We want to create a space that welcomes transformation and conversation. We want to take the best of what we have been learning at Wildwind Community Church and live it out in our own context . We believe there are people out there who don’t like the idea of church but long to know God. We want to help remove barriers and invite people to experience God wherever they are on their journey. We want to live our lives, much like Jesus did, present to the needs around us. We hope to bring grace, truth, and light with us wherever we go.

July might seem like it’s a long ways away but there is lots of work to be done. In the meantime, we’d appreciate your prayers and would love to hear from you if you think you’d like to be involved! You can keep up with the progress of our journey here at The Green Couch. I’ll still be focusing on Community, Culture, and Conversation but you can count on hearing more about our church-planting adventure from time to time.

Have you ever stepped out into the unknown to follow your dreams? What advice can you offer to help us along on our adventure?

  1. Proud of you, buddy!

  2. “Context” now that’s a word I like.

    Have you ever stepped out into the unknown to follow your dreams?

    That is how I met you!

    What advice can you offer to help us along on our adventure?

    Call me up sometime. We can chat.

    • Thanks, Nate!

      I’m glad you stepped out, I’m better for it. Looking forward to talking soon.

    • Joy Arbor
    • November 30th, 2011

    Yay! I’m glad I could find out more! If you ever consider having a community garden for providing clean organic food for those in need, please let me know because I want to do that. I may be spiritually confused, but when Dave asked what I would do if I knew I couldn’t fail in Discovery last year, I answered without hesitation: I’d grow food for those in need. It hurts my heart that those in need often must make do with low-quality or even toxic food (GMOs, pesticide residues, etc.) and are supposed to consider themselves lucky. Surely those in need are not less deserving and actually may need healthy God-given nutritious food more than those of us who are more well-fed. Perhaps those in need could help tend the garden as well. . .or not. I realize this may not be helpful right now — and is certainly not part of getting a core team together. Just something to consider for the future. Also, as you go forward, if you think of service-related activities that Kettering students could help with, let me know. We also have a number of student groups that like to serve the Flint community.

    I’m excited about you and Lisa’s adventure! I want to hear more!

    • Thanks for reading and writing, Joy! Those are some great ideas! I’m glad you’ve tuned in to see what’s happening. Looking forward to our future discussions.

      Thanks so much for the encouragement. You are very kind, and there’s nothing “confused” about that!

  1. January 27th, 2012

Leave a Reply

