ADVENTURES IN, AND OUT OF, EVERYDAY LIFE

The holidays are among us and I can already feel the pace of life speeding up. As my schedules fills up with holiday events, board game conventions, school commitments, and family gatherings, all of which are good things in of themselves, I’m reminded of the need to make intentional efforts in finding the quiet space that helps me remember that I am a human being and not simply a human doing, as one of my favorite cliches states.

It is my hope that the stuff I do comes springs from who I am and who I have been with.

Here’s some of the stuff going on in my life right now:

  • Helping to raise a two-and-half-year-old princess
  • Planning dates with my awesome wife, including a trip to ChiTAG
  • Serving the folks of Wildwind Community Church
  • Finishing up a board game that will be published by Cambridge Games Factory
  • Working on two other game ideas
  • Participating in NaNoWriMo, attempting to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days, for fun
  • Taking a class in Systematic Theology
  • Remembering that I have a blog and lining up some killer content for the next month or so
  • Booking shows for an extremely talented singer/songwriter named Kelsey Rottiers

Like I said, good stuff. Fun stuff. Being an extrovert it’s this kind of engagement that bring me energy.  But I know that it is the God of the Universe who brings me life. It’s the realization that has helped me to make intentional decision to stay connected with him in the quiet places. “Be still and know that I am God” writes the psalmist. And it is for this reason that I am learning to connect with God through practicing contemplative prayer like The Prayer of Examen developed by Ignatious of Loyola. I have also begun a friendship an a spiritual director from Manresa Jesuit Retreat House that I will be visiting regular. His role in my life is to listen and help my find where God is speaking in my life and encouraging me to nurture my life with him. It’s neat to have someone to connect with outside of my normal circle. This allows him to listen to my life objectively and help me see what I might be missing.

In these times of busyness I find that it is even more important to carve out time for connection and reflection. I believe the space I’m making will provide the fuel I need to move forward and also the insight to know when it’s okay to take my hands of the wheel. Sometime it’s the letting go that allows us to fall forward.

What will you do this season to make room for the peace of God to enter your life in the midst of all the chaos and excitement?

  1. My objective, generally, is to stay further away from the chaos and more towards the cairos. I often find myself trying to take over things and do as much as possible, chronos.

    Heh, this might be my first time really slowing down in the past two years and saying, “I’ll just let things happen as they happen.” Taking on too much seems to be my middle name, but you have an awesome balance it seems.

    I felt relaxed reading your blog.

  2. Thanks so much for reading. Love the time differentiation between cairos and chronos.

    I hope you experience what are you looking for this year!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

