SUMMER REFLECTIONS: THE LAST THREE MONTHS

So, here we are. It’s been a while since I’ve spent much time on The Green Couch. I’ve missed it, that’s for sure. Initially, I always think of Summer as a time where life slows down and the squares on my calendar open up but this is not usually the case. But rather than complain that Summer is almost over, and talk about how it flew by, or rather than making excuses about why I haven’t kept up with this blog,  I’ll just take some time to share what I’ve been up to. I think we can get glimpses of God’s grace in our ability to pick up where we left off. Thanks for joining me as I relfect on the events of the last 3 months.

Family

When you have a 2-year-old, life is always fun! This Summer has been a time of watching my baby turn into a little girl! There nothing that makes me happier than listening to her tell stories, speak in complete sentences, and sing the Doxology at bedtime. We’ve been camping, on picnics, watched “big-girl” movies, flew to Florida, and played games. Life with my girls, Lisa and Claire, is pretty amazing. I’m so thankful for the blessings God has given me!

Board Games

I am pleased to announce that the board game I designed, Over The Road, is being published by Cambridge Games Factory! Cambridge Games Factory is a small publisher that focuses on helping new designers get their first games into print as well as working with more seasoned designers (they’ve recently announced 2 games from Dr. Reiner Knizia). They have published an eclectic line-up with games ranging from a family card game to a zombie survival game to a highly strategic gamer’s game. Their games have won awards and accolades from Boardgamegeek.com and Games Magazine and have recently been getting a lot of attention with news of a new version of their hit game “Glory To Rome”. Glory to Rome is the game the put CGF on the map (it in the Top 100 on BGG) and it’s being given the royal treatment with a new Black Box edition that has been funded by fans through Kickstarter. I traveled to Ohio for Origins Game Fair to spend some time teaching their games and getting to know some of their crew. I couldn’t be more please to work with them for my first game. It looks like it will be released sometime in 2012. In the meantime, I’ve begun working on a few new game ideas.

Education

As you may know, I serve as the Associate Pastor at Wildwind Community Church. I graduated from Spring Arbor University in 2010 with a degree in Family Life Education. I am currently finishing up course work on the road towards ordination in the Free Methodist Church. While my degree from SAU has helped me develop helping skills my coursework with the Free Methodist Church is continuing to development as a minister. I’ve spent much of this Summer learning about the theology of John Wesley and studying the book of Acts. This Fall and Winter, I will take 3 more classes to finish my requirements.

Running

My wife and I have also been busy training to run the Crim. The Crim is one of our city’s biggest events, a 10-mile road race through the streets of Flint, Michigan. We started a running group at our church and have met on a weekly basis to prepare for the big day (THIS SATURDAY!) I’m not fast but it’s better than sitting in front of the television all the time.

Music

I used to play in punk rock bands and loved all of the stuff involved with keeping things moving forward. I booked shows, made fliers, set up rehearsals and studio time, and all the other behind-the-scenes stuff that keeps musicians busy. When I decided to follow my heart into full-time ministry I left my band and left behind the packed, weekend performance schedule. I always knew I would be involved in music again but I wasn’t sure what form it would take. I have played in the worship band at church and have written, recorded, and performed some songs acoustically, to mention a couple of my latest outlets for musical expression.  But my latest project is one that I am extremely proud of. I have taken on the task of booking and advising Kelsey Rottiers and The Rising Tide. Kelsey is a long time family friends and we both agreed that her talent and my experience with booking, marketing, and promotion could make a match. I’ve been helping Kelsey book shows all over Michigan in support of her new album (which you can get for free at NoiseTrade.com). Kelsey (and Derek) have been great to work with as their talent and passion not only shines in their music but also in who they are as people.

Dreaming

Lisa and I have been dreaming about our future a lot lately. We want to always be grateful for the present while looking toward whatever God has for us next. Whether its thinking about expanding our family, serving our community or playing the “would it be cool if…” game we love drinking in the possibility that is all around us. Dreaming keeps us alert and energizes us. We’re looking forward to whatever the journey ahead holds for us.

So what about you? What’s kept you busy this Summer?

Leave a Reply

