COLLIDING WITH JOY

Yesterday morning I was driving into my office when someone made a left turn in front of me. I was able to swerve a bit but there was still some major side-swipe-collision action. My car is a mess and thankfully, I am just feeling a little stiff today. I have been driving a car that would fit in nicely with the Junky Car Club. Paid off. 12 years old. High miles. I paid $2700 for it and there is somewhere between $2000-$5000 worth of damage to the driver’s side.

The driver who hit me decided to leave the scene with a front fender that was peeled back to the driver’s side door, exploded airbags, and a smashed windshield. As much as I was initially filled with anger and a need for justice in this situation, I am now overwhelmed with gratitude. It’s just a car, right? It’s just money.

My accident could have turned out much differently. Any number of the small details of the accident could have been slightly different and led to a much worse outcome. My wife left work to pick me up and we headed straight to our neighbor’s house to pick up our daughter from day care. We sat together and were comforted by a quiet, peace. It was a peace that comes from the true joy of recognizing your blessings.

This psalmist’s prayer was answered yesterday,

Psalms 39:4 (NLT)
4 “Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered— how fleeting my life is.

Folks, our time is limited. I intend to use my time to invest in things that matter. I hope you will too.

So call a friend and tell them how much they mean to you. Snuggle with your family. Take a walk in the woods. Buy your mother lunch. Breathe deeply of the blessed life you have been given.

May God show you the beauty that is all around you.

    • Chuck
    • April 29th, 2010

    I’m so glad that you were not hurt in this accident, Jason! What a positive approach to a situation which could have caused you to have had all kinds of feelings of stress and frustration. Isn’t it a joy to know that our lives are in God’s hands and the things we own are just “stuff!” May we all continue to learn to hold onto “stuff” loosely and to treasure people, the only commodity which God treasures!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

