THE MANRESA DIARIES, PART 5

by Photos par Voiland

Saturday Late Afternoon

The meditation before lunch was tough. Each meditation begins with a chime, then there is a few minutes of music that fades out followed by about 25 minutes of silence, the music then fades in again for a minute or so, followed by an “Our, Father” in unison (leaving off the end, must be the Catholic way), finally Fr. Bernie recites a short reading, and signals the close of the meditation with another chime.

Once again I dealt with the same distractions but added another to the list. I started to doze off several times. I am going to listen to my body and go take a nap before yoga.

Before that, I want to make sure to remember a funny thing that happened at lunch. I’m one of the un-lucky left-handed folks in this right-handed world. Eating is sometimes difficult in that if I don’t sit in the “right” seat my elbow will invade the space of the unfortunate “righty” that gets stuck next to me. Having been a “lefty” my whole life, I have learned a trick or two including; sitting on one of the ends where my elbow has free reign over the airspace next to the table. I used this trick today at lunch. Being one of the first people at my table I was the annoying guy sitting on the end, blocking the way.  As my table filled in and we began to eat I looked up and noticed that the 3 others guys at my table were “lefties” too! Coincidence? I think not! God’s providence? Most likely! After all, I am at a spiritual retreat.

Enough meandering, time to sleep.

    • Johnny Mason
    • April 5th, 2010

    I’ve enjoyed reading your entries from the retreat. Makes me contemplate some things. I have a tough time shutting off my brain from all of the little things and being able to open it fully to the “great silence”. I wonder how I would do at Manresa…

    • Well, I think that if you need a remedy for the brain that doesn’t quit this could be a huge help. Manresa is a great place to get you started on the journey, at least, it was for me. Manresa is a unique place but it’s not a magical place. You can start the journey in any quiet place if you have an open heart! Here’s a great little book that the teaching at my retreat was based on. It’s only about 50 pages.

      Thanks for writing, Johnny! Glad to get you thinking about stopping thinking.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

