AN INTERVIEW WITH ALAN R. MOON

Alan R. Moon’s career in the hobby gaming industry has quite a history. Beginning in 1979 as the editor of Avalon Hill’s magazine, The General, it wasn’t long before he began to help in the game development department. 30 years later he is one of the most well-known hobby game designers on the scene today. His game series, TICKET TO RIDE (Days of Wonder), has sold over one million copies and is now considered one of the best gateway games for introducing non-gamers to the wonderful world of hobby gaming.  In a recent conversation with Nerd-News.com, Mr. Moon shared his thoughts about game design, success, and some of his favorite games. Take an inside look at the mind of America’s most prominent game designer.

You started off as an editor/writer and eventually moved into game development, does that writing background play a part in your game design? If so, how?

I don’t think I’ve ever been asked this question before. My initial reaction was to say that I don’t think writing has any part in my game designs. But after thinking about it a little bit, I believe there is a subtle connection. The way I consider ideas for games is the same as the way I considered ideas when I was thinking about writing articles. I start with the key item and then build on the details, till the whole concept, or at least an outline of the whole concept, is clearly in my head.

Read the rest and comment at Nerd-News.com

  1. January 10th, 2011
Comments are closed.
